News

Live Stream The Candlelight Processional & Other Disney News This Week

Every week I gather the latest news from Walt Disney World, Disneyland Resort, and other Disney parks to help you keep up with all of the changes. Here is the most recent Disney news for the week of Nov. 26-Dec. 2, 2018:

1. Watch The Candlelight Processional Live

For the first time ever, you can watch Epcot’s Candlelight Processional via live stream courtesy of Disney Parks Blog! On Dec. 4 starting at 8:15 p.m. EST, you’ll be able to watch the beloved show AND with host Neil Patrick Harris! Also, if you want to tune in early at 8:05 p.m. EST, you’ll even get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into creating the show. Make sure to mark your calendars!

2. Look Inside The Gran Destino Tower

First of all, you can now make reservations for the Gran Destino Tower for stays starting July 2019. The tower is located at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort. Secondly, if you’ve been dying to see concept art for the rooms, the outside architecture, and the two new restaurants, click here!

3. Disney Gift Card Collector’s Series Honors Mickey

You can now purchase a special limited-edition Disney Gift Card honoring Mickey’s 90th birthday. Designed by Justin Hamana, a Walt Disney Imagineering graphic designer, the card features actual Swarovski crystals! There are only 5,000 cards available “encrusted with over 2,500 premium Swarovski crystals.” The gift cards cost $300 with $90 redeemable loaded onto them. You can pick up the gift card starting Dec. 4 at the following locations and while supplies last:

  • Disney World: Main Street Cinema (Magic Kingdom Park), The Art of Disney (Epcot and Disney Springs), and Ever After Jewelry Co. & Accessories (Disney Springs).
  • Disneyland: Disneyana (Disneyland Park), Off the Page (Disney California Adventure), and WonderGround Gallery (Downtown Disney District).

4.  Play Disney Parks App: Holiday Addition

There are new achievements and Apple Music playlists available on the Play Disney Parks app for the holiday season! Those using the app at Disneyland Resort will be able to earn holiday-themed achievements at “it’s a small world” Holiday, Grizzly River Run, and Haunted Mansion Holiday.

As for the festive holiday music, you won’t want to miss out on the following playlists!

And some good news: Apple Music subscribers can even add these playlists directly to their library!

5. Have You Seen The New Ears?!

There are new Purple Potion ears that will soon be available at Disney parks!

The  Mickey 90th birthday ears are also now available at Disney Springs’ World of Disney! Regarding the latter ears, not only is “#Mickey90” embroidered on the side, but they include a bow that can be removed and transformed into a bowtie!

6. More Disney After Hours Details Revealed For AK & HS

Awhile ago, Disney announced Disney After Hours would soon arrive at Disney’s Animal Kingdom and Disney’s Hollywood Studios. Well, the attractions and entertainment lineup has been unveiled on the official Disney World website for both after hours events! Check them out:

Animal Kingdom:

  • Avatar Flight of Passage
  • Na’vi River Journey
  • Pandora Drummers – Swotu Wayä
  • Expedition Everest – Legend of the Forbidden Mountain
  • DINOSAUR
  • Rivers of Light
  • Tree of Life Awakenings
  • It’s Tough to be a Bug!
  • TriceraTop Spin

Hollywood Studios:

  • Slinky Dog Dash
  • Alien Swirling Saucers
  • Toy Story Mania!
  • Tower of Terror
  • Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster
  • Star Tours – The Adventures Continue
  • Star Wars Launch Bay
  • Character Greetings with Toy Story Land Pals, Mickey, Minnie and Olaf

Disney After Hours dates and times for AK are as follows:

8:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m:

  • Tuesday, Dec. 4, 2018
  • Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2018
  • Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2018
  • Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2019
  • Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
  • Tuesday, Jan. 22, 2019
  • Thursday, Jan. 31, 2019
  • Tuesday, Feb. 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2019
  • Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2019
  • Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2019
  • Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019
  • Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2019
  • Tuesday, March 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019
  • Wednesday, April 3, 2019

And here are the dates and times for HS:

8:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m.:

  • Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018
  • Saturday, Dec. 15, 2018
  • Saturday, Dec. 22, 2018
  • Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019
  • Saturday, Jan. 12, 2019
  • Saturday, Jan. 19, 2019
  • Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019
  • Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019
  • Saturday, Feb. 16, 2019
  • Saturday, March 2, 2019
  • Saturday, March 9, 2019
9:00 p.m. to midnight:
  • Saturday, March 16, 2019
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019
  • Saturday, March 30, 2019
  • Saturday, April 6, 2019
  • Saturday, April 13, 2019

Disney After Hours events require a separate ticket than daytime admission. Even though the event officially begins after the parks close, you can enter the park starting at 7 p.m. Tickets cost $125 plus tax for advanced purchase and $129 plus tax for day-of purchase. Disney Vacation Club members and Annual Passholders receive a discount of $95 plus tax. Tickets for both park events are on sale now. You can buy tickets through the Disney Reservation Center by calling 407-939-7795.

7. Tokyo Disney Resort Adding ‘Toy Story’ Hotel 

To infinity and beyond! The Tokyo Disney Resort is adding a Toy Story-inspired hotel with  an estimate of 600 rooms that’s projected to open in 2021. The rooms are said to resemble Andy’s bedroom and his beloved toys, including Woody and Buzz Lightyear. There will also be, of course, dining and shopping. Overall, the hotel will look like it’s made of toys! No further details have been announced, but once they are, you bet I will update you.

That’s it for Disney news from this past week. I’ll continue to collect park updates, so be sure to keep your eyes open for my weekly news post!

RELATED POSTS:

Be sure to follow me on InstagramFacebook, and Twitter for my latests post, tips, and Disney updates!

Featured Image: Courtesy of Walt Disney World Resort